Primary, secondary and post secondary schools in Parramatta are highly regarded.

Lobby of Western Sydney University on Smith Street. Illustrated are two female students using the warmly lit co-design work space on the left and the entry way and WSU logo on the right.
Primary school student on an excursion using a magnifying glass to examine old shale rock formations for fossils opposite the Parramatta ferry terminal.

Primary school education

Primary school in New South Wales runs from Kindergarten to Year 6 (K-6).  

By law, you must enrol your child in a school or register them for home-schooling by their sixth birthday. 

The culturally-rich Parramatta Public School accepts 97% of enrolments from non-English language backgrounds

Architectural rendering of the new Arthur Phillip Vertical Primary & Secondary School. Illustrated are the fields, the unique horseshoe designed elementary school and the high rise secondary school featuring free flowing air and greenspace on multiple floors
Architectural rendering of new Arthur Phillip Vertical Primary & Secondary School

Secondary school education

Secondary school in New South Wales runs from Year 7 to Year 12 (HSC).In Parramatta, the James Ruse Agricultural School has achieved the number one ranking in the NSW Higher School Certificate for more than 20 years. Other schools such as the prestigious The King’s School and Tara Anglican School for Girls are recognised as high achieving, non-selective schools.  The new high-rise, vertical campus for Arthur Phillip High School in the heart of the Parramatta CBD will open in 2020. 

Two male students pose seated around heritage masonry within The Kings private school for boys campus

Australian Schooling

School education in primary and secondary schools across Australia is very similar.

There are some differences between states and territories. 
School education in New South Wales is compulsory for children between the ages of six and sixteen.

All students must complete Year 10, or be 17 years old before they can leave school.  There is a total of 13 years of school education.

English is the main language of instruction in the Australian education system. Some schools offer bilingual programs or programs in other languages.

Fellow students engage in a playful study group at Western Sydney University

Tertiary Education

Tertiary Education In New South Wales Includes:

  • Higher education at universities
  • Vocational education and training (VET)

There are 9 university campuses, colleges and graduate schools in the City of Parramatta, including:

  • Western Sydney University
  • University of Sydney
  • Swinburne University
  • University of New England
  • University of New South Wales
  • Charles Sturt University 
  • Sydney Graduate School of Management

Parramatta is a major innovation hub for Education

Westmead's Health and Research campus and a planned Engineering Innovation Campus are both examples of Parramatta's emergence as a place of educational excellence.